A Montréal municipal Web site

Members of the Ordre

Regardless of their sphere of activity, members of the Ordre de Montréal share the same commitment to excellence. These exceptional men and women contribute to making our world a better place and inspire pride in all Montrealers.

Portrait of Mr. Daniel Gauthier

Daniel Gauthier

Commander
2016
Great Montrealer
1998, cultural category

Daniel Gauthier’s reputation as a business administrator of calibre is long-established. With a love for juggling numbers, he has succeeded in making Cirque du Soleil a well-known entity almost everywhere in the world.

Daniel Gauthier and Guy Laliberté, a close collaborator from the very early stages, were instrumental in making Cirque du Soleil a major cultural enterprise, respected and admired internationally. Acclaimed in Tokyo, London, Munich, Amsterdam, Berlin and San Francisco, the Cirque employs some 1,300 professionals and generates revenue totalling close to $200 million.

Daniel Gauthier’s first contact with the circus and acrobats dates back to 1982, in Charlevoix, when he was responsible for the accounting and computer activities of the Fête foraine de Baie St-Paul, a showcase for the Club des talons hauts, performers on stilts, some of whom later became the nucleus of Cirque du Soleil. Only 23 at the time, Daniel Gauthier was a consultant working for his own firm, Gesco, the first company of its type in the Charlevoix region.

When Cirque du Soleil was founded in 1984, Daniel Gauthier was appointed its director of administrative and computer services. The following year, as secretary-treasurer, he was involved in setting up the Fondation du Grand Chapiteau, a non-profit organization dedicated to teaching, promoting and supporting circus and street performing arts.

Long the Cirque’s “one-man band,” Daniel Gauthier became a shareholder of the cultural enterprise in 1987, agreeing to serve as vice-president of Productions Cirque du Soleil. The same year also marked the first series of North American tours. The first show, Cirque réinventé, was featured as part of the Los Angeles Festival and also toured the cities of San Diego and Santa Monica. The American public’s response was so extraordinary that the Cirque returned to the United States in 1988, notably to the cities of New York, Washington, San Francisco and Santa Monica.

That same year, Daniel Gauthier joined forces with Jean-Françoys Brousseau and became vice-president of Concept Électronique Microflex, a company specialized in automated ticketing systems. In 1988 as well, the two partners founded the Admission ticketing network and, within four years, it captured 85% of the Quebec ticketing market. After that, Admission expanded beyond Canadian borders to enter the American ticketing market.

In 1990, Daniel Gauthier became president of Cirque du Soleil. At the age of 31, the young executive launched the world premiere in Montréal of the Nouvelle Expérience production. The Cirque garnered unprecedented success, breaking all of the previous years’ records for ticket sales. Then came North American, European and Asian tours of the Saltimbanco, Alegria and Quidam productions. In addition, in 1993 Cirque du Soleil inaugurated its first permanent theatre in Las Vegas, where the Mystère production was featured. Two new permanent productions had been scheduled by late 1998: one near Orlando, on the Walt Disney World site, and the second at the Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas.

Daniel Gauthier ‒ whom colleagues view as a person who is very approachable and attentive to others ‒ is a skilled negotiator who shows a consistent commitment to excellence.

Daniel Gauthier was inducted into the Academy of Great Montrealers in the Cultural category in 1998 and was named a Commander of the Ordre de Montréal in 2016.

Source: Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal

The picture and biographical information appearing on this page were current at the time this person was admitted to the Academy of Great Montrealers.

Un site de la Ville de Montréal

Daniel Gauthier

Commandeur
2016
Grand Montréalais
1998, catégorie culturelle
Portrait de M. Daniel Gauthier

La réputation de gestionnaire de Daniel Gauthier n’est plus à faire. Aimant jongler avec les chiffres, il est parvenu à faire connaître le Cirque du Soleil presque partout dans le monde.

Avec son comparse de la première heure, Guy Laliberté, le Cirque du Soleil est devenu sous leur gouverne une entreprise culturelle d’envergure respectée et admirée à l’échelle internationale. Acclamé, entre autres, à Tokyo, à Londres, à Munich, à Amsterdam, à Berlin et à San Francisco, le Cirque emploie plus de 1 300 artistes et artisans et génère des revenus de près de 200 millions de dollars.

Le premier contact de Daniel Gauthier avec le cirque et les saltimbanques remonte à 1982, dans Charlevoix, alors qu’il s’occupe de la comptabilité et de l’informatique de la Fête foraine de Baie-Saint-Paul, où se produisait le Club des talons hauts, une troupe d’échassiers, dont certains membres constitueront plus tard le noyau principal du Cirque du Soleil. À l’époque, M. Gauthier, qui n’avait que 23 ans, travaillait comme consultant pour sa propre société, Gesco, la première du genre à voir le jour dans la région de Charlevoix.

Lorsque le Cirque du Soleil est fondé en 1984, Daniel Gauthier détient le poste de directeur des services administratifs et informatiques. L’année suivante, c’est à titre de secrétaire-trésorier qu’il contribue à mettre sur pied la Fondation du Grand Chapiteau, organisme sans but lucratif voué à l’enseignement, à la diffusion et au soutien des arts du cirque et de la rue.

Daniel Gauthier, qui a longtemps été l’homme-orchestre du Cirque du Soleil, devient actionnaire de l’entreprise culturelle en 1987 et accepte la vice-présidence des Productions du Cirque du Soleil. Cette année marque d’ailleurs le début des premières tournées de la troupe en sol américain. Le premier spectacle, Cirque réinventé, est en effet présenté dans le cadre du Los Angeles Festival, ainsi que dans les villes de San Diego et de Santa Monica. La réponse du public américain est à ce point extraordinaire qu’on décide de retourner aux États-Unis dès 1988, notamment dans les villes de New York, de Washington, de San Francisco et de Santa Monica.

La même année, soit en 1988, M. Gauthier s’associe avec Jean-Françoys Brousseau et accède à la vice-présidence de Concept électronique Microflex, compagnie spécialisée dans les systèmes de billetterie. Cette même année, les deux partenaires fondent le réseau de billetterie Admission qui, en quatre ans, accapare 85 % du marché au Québec. Admission a depuis ce temps franchi les frontières canadiennes et exploite son réseau de billetterie sur le marché américain.

En 1990, Daniel Gauthier devient président du Cirque du Soleil. Âgé de 31 ans, le jeune dirigeant inaugure la première mondiale, à Montréal, de la production Nouvelle Expérience. Le Cirque connaît un succès sans précédent, fracassant les records de vente des billets enregistrés les années précédentes. Puis, suivent les tournées nord-américaines, européennes et asiatiques des productions Saltimbanco, Alegria et finalement Quidam. De plus, en 1993, le Cirque du Soleil inaugure son premier théâtre permanent à Las Vegas où est présenté le spectacle Mystère. D’ici la fin de 1998, deux nouvelles productions permanentes auront vu le jour : l’une près d’Orlando sur le site de Walt Disney World et l’autre à l’hôtel Bellagio à Las Vegas.

Daniel Gauthier, que ses collaborateurs considèrent comme un être très humain et à l’écoute des gens, est un négociateur redoutable constamment en quête d’excellence.

Daniel Gauthier a reçu le titre de Grand Montréalais dans la catégorie culturelle en 1998 et a été nommé commandeur de l’Ordre de Montréal en 2016.

Source : Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain

Le portrait et les notes biographiques apparaissant dans cette page étaient à jour au moment de l’admission de cette personne à l’Académie des Grands Montréalais.