A Montréal municipal Web site

Members of the Ordre

Regardless of their sphere of activity, members of the Ordre de Montréal share the same commitment to excellence. These exceptional men and women contribute to making our world a better place and inspire pride in all Montrealers.

Alanis Obomsawin

Alanis Obomsawin

Commander
2017

An Abenaki filmmaker, engraver, singer and storyteller, Alanis Obomsawin, whose name means “scout,” has worked all her life to highlight and defend First Nations culture by giving voice to Aboriginal people.

The documentary film that she directed in 1993, Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance, is one of her most important films. In it, she chronicles the historic circumstances that led to the 1990 Oka Crisis between the Mohawk Nation and the Government of Quebec. Her film was shown in many national and international festivals and won several awards.

Combative and determined, Ms. Obomsawin fights against discrimination and injustice with integrity and passion. First a singer, author and storyteller, she has long personally illustrated and taught the history of First Nations in Quebec and Canadian schools in order to correct biased information presented in some history books. She has also worked with Aboriginal children to help them build their self-esteem by teaching them about their culture.

In 1967, she joined the National Film Board where she started as a consultant and then directed, wrote and produced documentaries. Fascinated by sounds and voices, she spends hours recording the voices of her native speakers before she films them. Her impressive filmography includes 50 films such as Incident at Restigouche (1984), Richard Cardinal: Cry from a Diary of a Métis Child (1986) and We Can’t Make the Same Mistake Twice (2016).

A prolific artist, Alanis Obomsawin has worked as an engraver since the early 1990s. Her etchings, focusing mainly on motherhood, have been exhibited in Canada and in Europe. In 2008, New York’s Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) presented a retrospective of her films. Ms. Obomsawin also produced an album of traditional songs entitled Bush Lady, in 1988.

Her exceptional commitment has been recognized by prestigious awards. In 2008, she was awarded the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement, in 2016, the Prix du Québec Albert-Tessier, Quebec’s most prestigious film award, for her major contribution to film and safeguarding indigenous heritage, and in 2013 she received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Women’s International Film & Television Showcase in Los Angeles. In 2006, author Randolph Lewis published a book on her vision and work entitled Alanis Obomsawin: The Vision of a Native Filmmaker. Several film awards have been named in her honour.

Appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 1983 and a Grande Officière of the Ordre national du Québec in 2016, Ms. Obomsawin has 22 honorary degrees from Canadian and American universities, including Concordia University, York University, Carleton University, the University of Western Ontario, Queen’s University and Dartmouth College in New Hampshire.

Photo : Cosmos Image

The picture and biographical information appearing on this page were current at the time this person was admitted to the Ordre de Montréal.

Un site de la Ville de Montréal

Les membres de l'Ordre

Quelle que soit leur sphère d’activité, les membres de l’Ordre de Montréal partagent un même souci d’excellence. Ce sont des femmes et des hommes d’exception, qui contribuent à rendre notre monde meilleur et inspirent la fierté montréalaise.

Alanis Obomsawin

Alanis Obomsawin

Commandeure
2017

Cinéaste, artiste graveure, chanteuse et conteuse d’origine abénaquise, Alanis Obomsawin, dont le nom signifie « éclaireur », a milité toute sa vie pour mettre en lumière et défendre la culture des Premières Nations, en donnant la parole aux autochtones.

Le film documentaire qu’elle a réalisé en 1993, Kanehsatake : 270 ans de résistance, est l’une de ses œuvres les plus marquantes. Elle y relate les circonstances historiques qui ont conduit à la crise d’Oka de 1990 entre la nation mohawk et le gouvernement québécois. Son œuvre a été diffusée dans plusieurs festivals nationaux et internationaux et couronnée de nombreux prix.

Combative et déterminée, madame Obomsawin lutte avec intégrité et passion contre la discrimination et l’injustice. D’abord chanteuse, auteure et conteuse, elle a longtemps illustré et enseigné directement l’histoire des Premières Nations dans les écoles québécoises et canadiennes, afin de redresser les informations biaisées transmises par certains livres d’histoire. Elle s’est aussi investie auprès des enfants autochtones pour encourager leur estime de soi en valorisant leur culture.

En 1967, elle entre à l’Office national du film comme consultante, puis devient réalisatrice, scénariste et productrice de documentaires. Fascinée par les sons et les voix, elle passe des heures à enregistrer la voix de ses interlocuteurs autochtones avant de les filmer. Elle signe une riche filmographie de 50 œuvres, incluant notamment Les événements de Restigouche (1984), Richard Cardinal : le cri d’un enfant métis (1986) et On ne peut pas faire deux fois la même erreur (2016).

Artiste prolifique, Alanis Obomsawin s’adonne à la gravure depuis le début des années 1990. Ses eaux-fortes, portant principalement sur le thème de la maternité, ont été exposées au Canada et en Europe. En 2008, le Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) à New York lui a consacré une rétrospective. Madame Obomsawin a aussi produit un album de chansons intitulé Bush Lady, en 1988.

Des prix prestigieux sont venus souligner son engagement exceptionnel. En 2008, elle a reçu le Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène, dans la catégorie Réalisation artistique; en 2016, le Prix du Québec Albert-Tessier, la plus haute distinction cinématographique québécoise, pour sa contribution majeure au cinéma et à la sauvegarde du patrimoine autochtone; et en 2013, le Lifetime Achievement Award du Women’s International Film and Television Showcase, à Los Angeles. En 2006, l’auteur Randolph Lewis a publié un livre sur sa vision et son œuvre intitulé Alanis Obomsawin: The Vision of a Native Filmmaker et plusieurs prix de cinéma ont été nommés en son honneur.

Reçue membre de l’Ordre du Canada, en 1983, et grande officière de l’Ordre national du Québec, en 2016, madame Obomsawin est titulaire de 22 doctorats honoris causa provenant d’universités canadiennes et américaines, dont l’Université Concordia, l’Université York, l’Université de Carleton, l’University of Western Ontario, l’Université Queen’s et le Dartmouth College.

Photo : Cosmos Image

Le portrait et les notes biographiques apparaissant dans cette page étaient à jour au moment de l’admission de cette personne à l’Ordre de Montréal.