A Montréal municipal Web site

Louise Arbour

C.C., G.O.Q
Council co-chair
Louise Arbour

An internationally recognized lawyer and judge, the Honourable Louise Arbour sat on the Supreme Court of Canada from 1999 to 2004, and on the Court of Appeal for Ontario and the Supreme Court of Ontario. She also held high-level positions at the United Nations, including that of High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Currently a jurist in residence at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP, she provides strategic advice on issues pertaining to international disputes. She also sits on the Global Commission on Drug Policy, the International Commission against the Death Penalty and the Advisory Board of the Coalition for the International Criminal Court. She chaired an inquiry commission that investigated certain events at the Prison for Women in Kingston, Ontario, and she has also served as a member of the Global Commission on Elections, Democracy and Security.

Ms. Arbour is the recipient of numerous honorary doctorates and awards. She has been a Companion of the Order of Canada since 2007, a Grand Officer of the Ordre national du Québec since 2009 and a Commander of the Légion d’honneur (France). She has also been decorated by Spain, Colombia and Belgium.

Un site de la Ville de Montréal

Louise Arbour

C.C., G.O.Q
Coprésidente du conseil
Louise Arbour

Avocate et juge de renom international, Me Louise Arbour a siégé à la Cour suprême du Canada de 1999 à 2004, à la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario et à la Cour suprême de l’Ontario. Elle a également occupé des postes importants aux Nations Unies, dont celui de haut-commissaire aux droits de l’homme.

Actuellement juriste en résidence chez Borden Ladner Gervais, Me Arbour fournit des conseils stratégiques sur les litiges internationaux. Elle siège également à la Commission mondiale sur les politiques en matière de drogues, à la Commission internationale contre la peine de mort et au Conseil consultatif de la Coalition pour la Cour pénale internationale. Elle a présidé une commission d’enquête sur la prison pour femmes de Kingston, en Ontario, et a été membre de la Commission mondiale sur les élections, la démocratie et la sécurité.

Me Arbour a reçu de nombreux doctorats honorifiques et distinctions. Elle est notamment compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada depuis 2007, grande officière de l’Ordre national du Québec depuis 2009 et commandeur de la Légion d’honneur, en France. Elle a aussi été décorée par l’Espagne, la Colombie et la Belgique.