Let the community know about exceptional Montrealers. Nominate one today!

Denis Brott

Commander
2016
Great Montrealer
2004, cultural category

Denis Brott, who was born in Montréal on December 9, 1950, is internationally recognized as one of Canada’s greatest musicians. He teaches cello and chamber music at the Montréal Conservatory of Music and also directs the Young Virtuosi, a training orchestra for young professionals who play string instruments.

The list of great musicians with whom he has studied is a pantheon of the world’s most accomplished musicians. Among his teachers are Leonard Rose at the Juilliard School of Music, Janos Starker at the University of Indiana and Gregor Piatigorsky at the University of Southern California. When he was still very young, Denis Brott won numerous awards and distinctions, including the Munich International Cello Competition, the Merriweather Post Competition, the Montréal Symphony Orchestra Competition, the Young Musicians’ Foundation Debut Award and the New York Affiliate Artists Award. He has performed as soloist with all the great Canadian orchestras, under the baton of such eminent conductors as Zubin Mehta, Franz-Paul Decker, Mario Bernardi and Yoav Talmi.

Denis Brott conceived and set up the Montreal Chamber Music Festival. The festival presents great music at historic sites so that it takes on an architectural dimension as well as an environment that enhances its non-verbal message. Every spring, internationally renowned Canadian musicians, together with instrumentalists from other countries, meet to perform an eclectic program of chamber music. The festival has forged an innovative alliance between the City of Montréal, corporate sponsors and advertisers. The Conseil québécois de la musique has rewarded the festival with two Opus Prizes: as Broadcaster of the Year in 1999 and in the category of Concert of the Year in 2000.

In 1987, Denis Brott played a prominent role in the creation of Canada’s Musical Instrument Bank, from which he enjoys a lifetime’s use of a magnificent cello, signed by David Tecchler and dated 1706. The Musical Instrument Bank now owns more than a dozen instruments that are loaned to recognized or deserving young Canadian musicians who perform around the world.

Not only is Denis Brott a dedicated chamber musician who has won two Juno Awards and a Grand Prix du Disque, he has performed with the Orford String Quartet, with whom he has recorded the complete string quartets of Beethoven. Among his many recordings must also be mentioned the complete sonatas for cello and piano by Brahms, which received Quebec’s ADISQ award. In addition, Denis Brott has written many articles in publications such as Strad Magazine, Orchestras Canada, University of Toronto Alumni Magazine and the Violoncello Society of New York.

Denis Brott was inducted into the Academy of Great Montrealers in the Cultural category in 2004 and was named a Commander of the Ordre de Montréal in 2016.

Source: Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal

The picture and biographical information appearing on this page were current at the time this person was admitted to the Academy of Great Montrealers.

La plus haute distinction honorifique de la Ville de Montréal est décernée à de nouveaux récipiendaires! Découvrez-les

Denis Brott

Commandeur
2016
Grand Montréalais
2004, catégorie culturelle

Né à Montréal le 9 décembre 1950, Denis Brott est reconnu sur la scène internationale comme l’un des plus éminents musiciens canadiens. Professeur de violoncelle et de musique de chambre au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, il dirige également Les Jeunes Virtuoses, un orchestre de formation pour jeunes instrumentistes à cordes professionnels.

La liste des grands musiciens avec lesquels il a étudié se lit comme le panthéon des meilleurs violoncellistes au monde. Parmi ses maîtres, il compte Leonard Rose à l’École de musique Juilliard, Janos Starker à l’Université de l’Indiana et Gregor Piatigorsky à l’Université de Southern California. Alors qu’il était encore très jeune, Denis Brott a remporté de nombreux prix et distinctions, notamment le Concours international de violoncelle de Munich; le Merriweather Post Competition; le Concours de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal; le Young Musicians Foundation Debut Award; et le New York Affiliate Artists Award. Il a joué comme soliste avec tous les grands orchestres canadiens, sous la direction de chefs illustres comme Zubin Mehta, Franz-Paul Decker, Mario Bernardi et Yoav Talmi.

Denis Brott a créé et mis en place le Festival de musique de chambre de Montréal. Ce festival présente de la grande musique dans des sites historiques afin de lui offrir une dimension architecturale et une ambiance mettant en valeur son message non verbal. Ainsi, chaque printemps, des artistes canadiens de renommée mondiale et des instrumentistes étrangers se donnent rendez-vous pour offrir de la musique de chambre éclectique. Ce festival a forgé une association innovatrice entre la Ville de Montréal, les commanditaires corporatifs et les annonceurs. Le Conseil québécois de la musique a récompensé le Festival de deux prix Opus comme Diffuseur de l’année en 1999 et dans la catégorie Concert de l’année en 2000.

En 1987, Denis Brott a joué un rôle prépondérant dans la création de la Banque d’instruments du Canada qui lui fait bénéficier à vie d’un exceptionnel violoncelle signé David Tecchler, daté de 1706. La Banque d’instruments du Canada a en sa possession plus d’une douzaine d’instruments qui sont prêtés à de jeunes musiciens canadiens reconnus ou méritants se produisant dans le monde entier.

Chambriste dévoué ayant gagné deux prix Juno et un Grand Prix du disque, Denis Brott s’est produit en compagnie du Quatuor à cordes Orford, avec lequel il a enregistré l’intégrale des quatuors à cordes de Beethoven. Parmi ses nombreux enregistrements, il faut citer également l’intégrale des Sonates de Brahms pour violoncelle et piano qui a été sélectionnée pour le Prix de l’ADISQ du Québec. Denis Brott a également signé de nombreux articles, notamment dans Strad Magazine, Orchestres Canada, University of Toronto Alumni Magazine et la Violoncello Society of New York.

Denis Brott a reçu le titre de Grand Montréalais dans la catégorie culturelle en 2004 et a été nommé commandeur de l’Ordre de Montréal en 2016.

Source : Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain

Le portrait et les notes biographiques apparaissant dans cette page étaient à jour au moment de l’admission de cette personne à l’Académie des Grands Montréalais.