17 Montrealers have been awarded the Ordre de Montréal insignia for 2024. Discover them!

Unveiling of recipients of the Ordre de Montréal 2022

Montreal, April 21 2022 - At its weekly meeting, Montréal’s executive council approved the nomination of 17 Montrealers who will receive a badge from the the Ordre de Montréal on May 15.

“Montréal is being built and evolving thanks to all of its residents. Through their actions and involvement, Montréal is always becoming stronger, more united, more inclusive and more prosperous. We would like to recognize the contribution of these people and celebrate their talent and devotion. The Ordre de Montréal is a way we can thank and promote these exceptional Montrealers who care about their city and the people who live here. This is Montréal’s highest honour. I am very proud to make public the names of these 17 recipients of Ordre de Montréal badges. We will celebrate them on May 15 as part of Montréal’s anniversary,” said Mayor Valérie Plante.

2022 recipients

Claude Corbo, Monique Giroux and Jean-Lucien Rouleau will receive the title of Commander, the order’s highest rank.

Aurèle Cardinal, Gérald Larose, André Ménard, Monique Mujawamariya, Ginette Noiseux and Samuel Pierre will receive the title of Officer.

Margaret Bain, Julie Bruneau, Jocelyn Demers, Aïcha Guendafa, Suzanne Lareau, Barry F. Lorenzetti, Louise Millette and Frantz Voltaire will receive the title of Dame or Knight.

The Ordre de Montréal advisory committee

Nominations were closely examined by the advisory committee on the basis of depth, originality and impact of each candidate’s achievements on the community life of each candidate. The advisory committee is formed of co-presidents Isabelle Hudon and Bernard Voyer, and members Bernard Descôteaux, Cadleen Désir, Steve Foster, Monika Ille, Emilie Nicolas, Jan-Fryderyk Pleszczynski and Louise Roy.

About the Ordre de Montréal

The Ordre de Montréal was created on May 16, 2016 as a legacy of Montréal’s 375th anniversary. It continues the work of the Académie des Grands Montréalais, which was created in 1988 by Montréal’s chamber of commerce. For more information, visit ville.montreal.qc.ca/ordre/a-propos.

- 30 -

Catherine Cadotte

Senior Press Officer
Office of the Mayor and Executive Committee