17 Montrealers have been awarded the Ordre de Montréal insignia for 2024. Discover them!

Announcement of 2020 Recipients

Montreal, November 25 2020 - The City of Montréal’s Executive Committee has today endorsed the nomination of 19 prominent personalities who will receive the Ordre de Montréal insignia this year.

The Ordre de Montréal is the City’s highest honorary distinction. Its purpose is to recognize the merits of Montrealers who have distinguished themselves either through their significant contribution to the city’s development or its international influence, the exemplary nature of their commitment to serving their fellow citizens, or the remarkable quality of their professional achievements. The members of the Ordre de Montréal are exceptional ambassadors of our great city.

“Montreal has the good fortune to profit from a phenomenal diversity of talents which, year after year, contribute to its development and renown. The women and men that we celebrate in awarding the Ordre de Montréal are among the great personalities that history will remember. It gives me great pleasure to be able to celebrate their contributions to our metropolis and showcase their achievements. Their exemplary dedication to our city is and will remain an inspiration for many of us”, declared Mayor of Montréal, Valérie Plante.

Each year, 17 recipients of the Ordre de Montréal are celebrated on May 17, the anniversary of Montréal’s founding. Exceptionally, due to the current pandemic, the ceremony has been postponed to May 2021, to be held if public health conditions permit. Similarly, the nomination period scheduled for fall 2020 in view of the 2021 ceremony of the Ordre has been postponed to fall 2021.

The Recipients

The title of Commander, highest rank in the Ordre de Montréal, will be awarded to Ms. Françoise Bertrand, Mr. Guy Breton and Mr. Michel Goulet.

The title of Officer will be conferred upon Mr. Pierre Bruneau, Ms. Pam Davidson McLernon, Mr. Joseph Kruger II, Mr. Guy Latraverse, Mr. Paul-André Linteau and Ms. Lorraine Pintal.

Finally, the title of Knight will be bestowed upon Ms. Nahid Aboumansour, Mr. Walter Boudreau, Mr. Irwin Browns and Ms. Freda Browns (joint appointment), Ms. Elizabeth-Ann Doyle, Ms. Monique Lefebvre, Ms. Donna Mergler, Ms. Brunilda Reyes, Ms. Vania Jimenez and Ms. Amélie Sigouin (joint appointment).

Discover the 2020 recipients presented by the Mayor of Montreal, Valérie Plante (in French only).

A Prestigious Council

The roughly 100 applications received were rigorously reviewed by the members of the Council of the Ordre de Montréal. Always co-chaired by a man and a woman, the Council’s reflects, by the choice of its members, the importance that the Ordre de Montréal attaches to gender equality, to Montreal's diversity and to values of excellence.

The Honourable Louise Arbour and Mr. Bernard Voyer co-preside over this prestigious Council which includes the following personalities: Mr. Bernard Descôteaux, Ms. Cadleen Désir, Mr. Steve Foster, Ms. Monika Ille, Ms. Emilie Nicolas, Mr. Jan-Fryderyk Pleszczynski and Ms. Louise Roy.

- 30 -