Montréal is at the maximum alert level. Stay informed

Montréal for

The faces of citizen participation

Awards and recipients

Montréal has established three awards to recognize remarkable accomplishments by citizens and organizations in various areas pertaining to citizen involvement and participation.

Thérèse-Daviau Award (2004)

Lucia Kowaluk. Click to enlarge

Created in 2004, the Prix Thérèse-Daviau is presented to individuals who have distinguished themselves through their exceptional contribution to improving Montrealers’ quality of life.

To date, it has been awarded to Ms. Lucia Kowaluk, Ms. Olga Hrycak, Ms. Twinkle Rudberg, Ms. Monique Lefebvre, Ms. Claire Morrissette (posthumously), Father Emmet Johns, and Ms. Léonie Couture.

Ms. Thérèse Daviau was one of the first women elected to city council. She was a member of Montréal’s executive committee in the 1990s, and dedicated 25 years of her life to representing the concerns of Montrealers.

Abe-Limonchik intercultural award (2009)

Marie-Claude Barey. Click to enlarge

Created in 2009 in honour of former city councillor Abe Limonchik, the award is presented to three recipients, an individual, an organization, and a business, having made an exceptional contribution to intercultural relations in Montréal.

To date, Ms. Marie-Claude Barey, Mr. Gérard Le Chêne, the Association multiethnique pour l’intégration des personnes handicapées, Mr. Javier San Juan, the Centre d’appui aux communautés immigrantes, and the Pimiento production house have been honoured with this recognition.

Mr. Abe Limonchik distinguished himself through his activities to help bring communities of different origins closer together.

Mayor of Montréal’s Democracy award (2012)

Click to enlarge Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge Click to enlarge

Proposed by the Task Force on Democracy to recognize democratic involvement, the award honours Montréal individuals, groups and organizations who have distinguished themselves through their activities promoting democracy and citizenship in Montréal.

The Centre d’éducation et d’action des femmes de Montréal and the Groupe de travail en agriculture urbaine were the joint winners of the first Mayor of Montréal’s Democracy Award, in 2012.

In 2013, the award was presented to Culture Montréal, and honourable mentions went to the Écomusée du fier monde and the organization ATSA.

Sur Youtube (French only)

  • Hommage au Chantier sur la démocratie (2002-2014)

Le civisme - 02
Montreal Charter of Rights and Responsibilities
Take the initiative, It's your right!