Progressive reopening: latest developments. Stay informed

Montréal for

Mayor of Montréal’s Democracy Award – 2015

On December 8, 2015, Montréal Mayor Denis Coderre, accompanied by the Honourable Irwin Cotler, Jury President, and Mr. Lionel Perez, responsible for democracy and governance on the Montréal executive committee, announced the name of the two winners of the fourth Mayor of Montréal’s Democracy Award.

2015 Winners

Click to enlarge

Category Citizen or group of citizens residing in Montréal
Mr. Benoit Langevin

Mr. Benoit Langevin is Co-founder and Executive Director of AJOI, an agency established in 2006 whose mission is to set up and maintain street- and youth-work intervention services for vulnerable young people ages 12 to 25 living on the West Island. With the support of his team, this Pierrefonds-Roxboro resident has established various innovative projects, including one that offers social mediation services pertaining to rights and responsibilities in schools. Mr. Langevin has been recognized on several occasions for his community involvement and leadership. In 2014, he received that year’s Everyday Political Citizen national award for mobilizing young people to become involved in civic affairs.





Click to enlarge

Category Organization established in Montréal

Carrefour de Ressources en Interculturel (CRIC)

Over the past 15 years, the Carrefour de Ressources en Interculturel has developed a second-line intervention approach based on the awareness-raising, training and management of interveners and residents of the Centre-Sud neighbourhood (Ville-Marie borough) in intercultural matters. Among its activities, the organization helps new arrivals to understand how various democratic bodies operate by inviting them, for example, to participate in borough councils or discussion meetings with municipal elected officials.




Click to enlarge


Award's 4th edition

L'arbre de ville - Estampe rehaussée de l'artiste Philippe Béha, 25 cm x 25 cm L'arbre de ville
Estampe rehaussée de l'artiste Philippe Béha
25 cm x 25 cm

The Mayor of Montréal’s Democracy Award seeks to recognize citizen involvement. Established in 2012, it aims to honour a Montréal citizen or group of citizens and a Montréal organization whose actions have helped to strengthen democracy in our city. With this contest, Montréal confirms its commitment to strengthening and promoting municipal democracy.


The 2015 jury was presided by the Honourable Irwin Cotler. The other members of the jury were: Mr. Pierre Gaudreau, Coordinator, Réseau d'aide aux personnes seules et itinérantes de Montréal (RAPSIM) and 2014 winner of the Mayor of Montréal’s Democracy Award; Ms. Geneviève Giasson, General coordinator, Communagir; Mr. Jasmin Roy, President and Founder, Fondation Jasmin Roy; Ms. Colleen Sheppard, Professor, Faculty of Law, McGill University; and Mr. Lionel Perez, member of the Montréal executive committee, responsible, among other things, for governance and democracy.

Sur Youtube (French only)

  • Hommage au Chantier sur la démocratie (2002-2014)

Le civisme - 02
Montreal Charter of Rights and Responsibilities
Take the initiative, It's your right!