Discover Montréal's new website


Montréal for

Agglomeration council

The agglomeration council, which came into existence on January 1, 2006, is headed by the mayor of Montréal and consists of 31 elected officials representing all the municipalities on the island of Montréal, specifically:

  • The mayor of Montréal
  • 15 members of Montréal’s city council
  • 14 mayors of reconstituted municipalities (L'Île-Dorval and Dorval have one representative)
  • An additional representative from Dollard-Des Ormeaux (because of the size of its population), selected by the mayor of Dollard-Des Ormeaux.

The agglomeration is structured democratically. The mayor names 15 elected officials to the agglomeration council, who continue their terms as city councillors. The city council determines the direction that elected officials take as part of the agglomeration council. The same goes for mayors of reconstituted cities, whose respective city councils determine the orientations of their work with the agglomeration council.

Montréal’s mayor and city councillors hold around 87 per cent of the votes on the agglomeration council, while the mayors of reconstituted cities hold around 13 per cent. These percentages are proportional to the respective demographic weight of each of the cities on the island of Montréal.

The Act respecting the exercise of certain municipal powers in certain urban agglomerations specifies the jurisdiction of the agglomeration over its territory:

  • Property assessment
  • Public safety services – in particular, police, firefighters and 9-1-1
  • The municipal court
  • Social housing
  • Help for the homeless
  • Waste management, including disposal and reclamation of waste materials and management of hazardous waste 
  • Water supply and sewage treatment, except for local networks
  • Public transit;
  • Management of streets and major thoroughfares
  • Economic promotion, including tourism, outside the territory of a related municipality
  • Nature parks.

In regards to shared services, the agglomeration council has the power to adopt by-laws, authorize expenses and impose taxes on the entire island of Montréal.

All island of Montréal taxpayers, regardless of their borough or reconstituted city of residence, pay a common tax for shared services governed by the agglomeration council.

The city clerk’s office produces agglomeration council minutes and agendas.

See agglomeration council agendas and minutes  (in French)