Discover Montréal's new website


Montréal for

Borough councils

Each of the 19 borough councils, whose members may vary, has jurisdiction over specific matters in accordance with Montréal’s city charter. Essentially, the borough councils have local power over the following matters:

  • Urban planning
  • Waste collection
  • Culture
  • Recreation
  • Social and community development
  • Parks
  • Roads
  • Housing
  • Human resources
  • Fire prevention
  • Non-taxation fees
  • Financial management

The borough mayor is elected democratically by residents of the borough. As Montréal is composed of 19 boroughs, there are 19 borough mayors.

A borough council is composed of no fewer than five councillors – both borough and city councillors. The number of borough and city councillors on the borough council depends on the borough.

City councillors sit on both city council and their borough council. In total, there are 46 city councillors in Montréal’s 19 boroughs.

Borough councillors only sit on their borough council. In total, there are 38 borough councillors in all 19 boroughs.

Consult the complete list of elected officials (in French)

Consult the calendar of borough council meetings (in French)