Discover Montréal's new website


Montréal for

City council


City council is the city’s primary decision-making body. It is composed of 65 elected officials:

  • The mayor of Montréal, who is also the mayor of Ville-Marie borough
  • 18 borough mayors
  • 46 city councillors

The mayor of Montréal is elected democratically by residents of Montréal. Residents of reconstituted cities do not vote for the mayor of Montréal.

The city charter specifies city council’s local jurisdiction, which includes:

  • Public safety
  • Governmental agreements
  • Building renovation subsidies
  • Environment
  • The Master Plan
  • The three-year capital works program, etc.

In addition, city council oversees, standardizes and approves decisions made by the borough councils.

City council meets once a month, except for the month of July. At the beginning of each meeting, a question period for the public is on the agenda, as specified under the By-law concerning rules of procedure for council meetings and internal rules for council management. Please note that beginning at the September 2009 meeting, citizen registration for the question and answer session will be done by random drawing as per the conditions of the procedure for the meeting and the question and answer session described in the document titled, "Summary of dispositions for the procedure of the meeting and the question and answer session," which appears below.

The city clerk’s office produces city council minutes and agendas.