Discover Montréal's new website


Montréal for

Denis Coderre receives Modern Makers of Canada Award 2016

7 mars 2016

Montréal, le 7 mars 2016 - The Mayor of Montréal, Denis Coderre, will receive the Modern Makers of Canada Award 2016. The award will be presented to him and to nine other Canadian municipal leaders as part of a ceremony held by the Institute on Governance, on March 7, 2016, at Ottawa's Shaw Centre. The award recognizes the innovation of municipal leaders.

“I would like to thank the Institute on Governance for considering my candidacy. I am honoured for having been chosen along with other municipal leaders for this award. I have great esteem for all my colleagues who have made exceptional and significant contributions to their communities,” said Mayor Coderre.

Created in 2011, the Modern Makers of Canada Award recognizes Canadian leaders who have contributed to good governance through inspired leadership in the public sector. This year's award celebrates one of the cornerstones of Canadian democracy: local government.

The ten mayors will be presented this award for their commitment to improve the quality of life for the vast majority of Canadians.

The recipients of the 2016 award are:
• Denis Coderre, Mayor of Montréal
• Don Iveson, Mayor of Edmonton
• Hazel McCallion, Former Mayor of Mississauga
• Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary
• Madeleine Redfern, Mayor of Iqaluit
• Gregor Robertson, Mayor of Vancouver
• Colette Roy Laroche, Former Mayor of Lac-Mégantic
• Mike Savage, Mayor of Halifax
• Jim Watson, Mayor of Ottawa
• Brad Woodside, Mayor of Fredericton