Bibliothèques publiques de Montréal
Friends from the library
Who are the friends?

Who are the friends?

Les Amis de la bibliothèque de Montréal

Friends of the Library of Montreal (ABM) is a non-profit organization that was founded in 1993, and has the goal to promote reading activities and offer outreach support to the network of Montreal libraries making their books more widely accessible.

Its objectives are to:

  • encourage its members and all Montrealers to attend the libraries in the Montreal network;
  • provide for more than 250 animation activities for children and adults every year;
  • organize and support events for the promotion of reading, including: a program for children from poor neighborhoods aged 4 to 12, Livres dans la rue, as well as the Annual Library Book Sale where Montrealers can buy very inexpensive books that have been cleared from Montreal libraries;
  • occasionally collaborate with the City of Montreal to some public events or special programs such as literary prize events and the Montreal Book Fair, etc.
  • publish a newsletter, Info-ABM, which is issued three times a year, distributed to members and all Montreal libraries;
  • inform our members of the resources and activities available in the Montreal library network.

The association has approximately 400 members. To become a member, please complete the form that is available in Montreal libraries or on our website and pay the annual fee as indicated in the category that you select.

Several volunteers (members and non-members) provide help to sustain the various activities of the association, and that, mainly during the Annual Library Book Sale. If you have a few hours or more to give, please contact our secretary. We will be happy to give you more information.

The Friends of the Library of Montreal has 10 elected representatives on its Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors for 2014-2015 is as follows:

  • Claude Lemire, President
  • Lise Deslauriers, Vice-President
  • Claude Robert, Treasurer
  • Lise Rebout, Secretary
  • Yves Provost, Advisor
  • Danielle Daveluy, Administrator
  • Lyette De Haitre, Administrator
  • France Dumais, Administrator
  • Pierre Lafleur, Administrator
  • Line Lemay, Administrator
  • Nathalie Royal, Administrator
  • Hélène Charbonneau, Honorary President