Distinctions

Share

Grand Prix du livre de Montréal

Recognizing excellence

The Grand Prix du livre de Montréal was established in 1965 to promote excellence in literary creation and highlight Montréal’s thriving publishing scene, while raising public awareness of Québec literature by recognizing a newly published work of exceptional quality and originality.

Since its relaunch in 1987, the Grand Prix du livre de Montréal has taken its place among Québec’s most prestigious literary distinctions, which make an active contribution to the dissemination of a work. The coveted prize honours authors and outstanding works published in Québec and is presented annually in mid-November, a few days prior to the opening of the Salon du livre de Montréal. The winner is selected by a five-person jury.

About the prize

The municipal administration awards a cash prize of $15,000 to the author or co-authors of a work published in French or English in recognition of its exceptional quality and originality. The remaining four finalists receive a cash prize of $1,000.

Promotional support

Through a partnership established with the Association internationale des études québécoises (AIEQ) in 2009, the winner of the Grand Prix du livre de Montréal is invited to stage a book tour of one of the 80 countries in which the AIEG has members.

All the publications named as finalists are acquired and made available in the 45 municipal libraries across Montréal, with at least one copy of each title held in every library.

The Grand Prix du livre de Montréal produces and provides promotional materials (stickers, posters, bookmarks, etc.) to publishers, bookstores and libraries in order to promote the prize-winning work.

The presentation of the Grand Prix du livre de Montréal may be preceded by other events promoting the books and authors named as finalists. By agreeing to be named to the shortlist, authors and publishers undertake to do everything in their power to attend the ceremony and carry out promotional activities.

Eligibility criteria

Any publication (original work, scholarly work, collection or reference work of a literary, artistic, social or historical nature) may be submitted provided that it meets the following criteria, failing which it will not be considered:

  • published for the first time* between September 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019
  • published in French or English
  • must be by a Montréal-based author or issued by a publisher domiciled within Montréal city limits
  • must have an International Standard Book Number (ISBN)
  • must meet the submission deadline

*Poetry and essay collections featuring excerpts already published in magazines are admissible.

Exclusions:

  • works by author(s) who sit on the jury or the secretariat for the award, or by their family members
  • translations
  • reprints or reissues

Jury composition and process

The jury is representative of the various sectors of the publishing industry, of Montréal’s two main linguistic communities, and of the city’s contemporary literary and intellectual currents. Each member agrees not to sit on the board of directors, executive committee, review board or editorial board of any publisher. The jury meets under the chairmanship of cultural community representative, appointed by the municipal administration for a period of three years. The Chair does not hold the right to vote.

In addition to the Chair, the jury is composed of five members. No member may hold a position in Montréal’s civil service, and members are selected by the Service de la culture de la Ville de Montréal. One-third of the jury is renewed annually, and members may not sit on the jury for more than three consecutive years, or more than five times over a period of 10 years.

The composition of the jury is announced during the ceremony.

2018 jury


Last year’s jury was chaired by Catherine Mavrikakis, writer, professor of literature at the Université de Montréal, and member of the Académie des lettres du Québec. It was composed of the following members (in order of appearance): Martine Audet, poet, member of the Académie des lettres du Québec; Marie-Andrée Beaudet, professor emeritus and vice-president of the Fondation Émile-Nelligan; Mike Vienneau, librarian and manager at the Librairie Monet; Simon Boulerice, author, poet, actor, director; Karen Ocana, literary translator.

Method of assessment

A four-step assessment process will be carried out to determine the winner:
1. Pre-selection
2. Selection of a shortlist
3. Selection of five finalists
4. Selection of the prize-winning submission
All entries in the competition are reviewed and assessed by at least two of the five jury members. Each pre-selected publication is reviewed and assessed by all members of the jury.
The jury’s decision is final and without appeal.

Call for submissions

The following submission deadlines apply:

• no later than January 31, 2019 for works published between September 1, 2018 and January 31, 2019
• no later than May 31, 2019 for works published between February 1 and May 31, 2019

No submissions will be accepted after these dates. All candidates will receive an acknowledgment of receipt by e-mail.

Application files

To be deemed admissible, all submissions must be completed in good and due form by the publisher, on behalf of the author, and the registration form must include the title of the work and the name of the candidate. Submissions must include seven copies of the work and the registration form and must be forwarded to the following address by the deadlines cited above.
All publications submitted will remain at the disposal of the Grand Prix du livre de Montréal and will not be returned to the publisher.

Presentation of the prize

November 2019

  

Artistic field

Literature

Prize type

City awards

Documents

Grand Prix du livre de Montréal 2019 registration form (in English)

Contact

Valérie Lampron
Librarian
Service de la culture, Direction des bibliothèques
514-872-9090

Distinctions

Partager

Grand Prix du livre de Montréal

Reconnaissance de l’excellence

Le Grand Prix du livre de Montréal existe depuis 1965. Il vise à promouvoir l’excellence en création littéraire et à souligner le dynamisme du milieu montréalais de l’édition. Il permet de sensibiliser la population à la littérature québécoise, en mettant en valeur une œuvre nouvellement parue dont la facture et l’originalité se révèlent exceptionnelles.

Depuis sa relance en 1987, le Grand Prix du livre de Montréal est rapidement devenu l’une des distinctions littéraires québécoises majeures qui contribuent activement à la diffusion d’un ouvrage. Toujours convoité, le Grand prix du livre de Montréal honore des auteurs et des œuvres marquantes de l’édition québécoise. Choisi par un jury de cinq membres, le Grand Prix du livre de Montréal est décerné annuellement à la mi-novembre, quelques jours avant l’ouverture du Salon du livre de Montréal.

Nature du prix

Une bourse de 15 000 $ est offerte par la Ville de Montréal à l'auteur ou aux coauteurs d'un ouvrage de langue française ou anglaise pour la facture exceptionnelle et l'apport original de cette publication. Quatre finalistes remportent quant à eux une bourse de 1 000 $.

Appui promotionnel

Depuis 2009, grâce à un partenariat avec l’Association internationale des études québécoises (AIEQ), le lauréat du Grand Prix du livre de Montréal a la possibilité de faire une tournée de promotion dans l’un des 80 pays où l’AIEQ a des membres.

Tous les livres finalistes sont acquis et rendus disponibles dans les 45 bibliothèques de la Ville de Montréal, à raison d’au moins un exemplaire de chaque titre par bibliothèque.

Le Grand Prix du livre de Montréal produit et fournit du matériel promotionnel (pastilles autocollantes, affiches, signets ou autre) aux éditeurs, aux librairies et aux bibliothèques afin de promouvoir les œuvres récompensées.

La remise du Grand Prix du livre de Montréal peut être précédée d’autres événements de promotion des livres et des auteurs finalistes. En acceptant d’être inscrits sur la liste préliminaire, les auteurs et éditeurs s’engagent à mettre tout en œuvre pour être présents et se préparer à la cérémonie et aux activités de promotion. 

Critères d'admissibilité

Tout ouvrage de création, d’analyse, de compilation ou de référence littéraire, artistique ou sociohistorique peut être soumis s’il se conforme aux critères suivants, faute de quoi il sera refusé par le jury :

  • publié pour la première fois* entre le 1er septembre 2018 et le 31 mai 2019;
  • en langue française ou en langue anglaise;
  • par un auteur montréalais ou par un éditeur domicilié sur le territoire de la Ville de Montréal;
  • qui comporte un numéro d’ISBN;
  • et respecte les dates de soumission.

* Les recueils de poésie et les essais contenant des fragments déjà parus dans des revues sont admissibles.

Sont exclus :

  • les ouvrages dont le ou les auteurs ou leur famille immédiate sont des membres du jury ou du secrétariat du prix;
  • les traductions;
  • les réimpressions ou rééditions.

Constitution et fonctionnement du jury

Le jury est représentatif de différents secteurs de l’industrie du livre, des deux grandes communautés linguistiques et des grands courants littéraires et intellectuels contemporains montréalais; chacun de ses membres s’engage à ne pas siéger à des conseils d’administration ou de direction ni à des comités de lecture ou de rédaction d’aucun éditeur. Le jury se réunit sous la présidence d’une personnalité du monde culturel nommée pour trois ans par la Ville et qui n’a pas droit de vote.

En plus de la présidence, le jury est constitué de cinq membres, dont aucun ne fait partie de la fonction publique montréalaise et qui sont sélectionnés par le Service de la culture de la Ville de Montréal. Le tiers du jury est renouvelé annuellement et aucun de ses membres ne peut y siéger plus de trois années consécutives, ni plus de cinq fois au cours d’une période de dix ans.

La constitution du jury est dévoilée lors de la cérémonie. 

Jury 2018 

Jury 2018

Sous la présidence de l’écrivaine, professeure de littérature à l’Université de Montréal et membre de l’Académie des lettres du Québec, Catherine Mavrikakis, le jury de l’an dernier se composait de (en ordre d’apparition) : Martine Audet, poète, membre de l’Académie des lettres du Québec; Marie-Andrée Beaudet, professeure émérite et vice-présidente de la Fondation Émile-Nelligan; Mike Vienneau, libraire et gestionnaire à la librairie Monet; Simon Boulerice, auteur, poète, comédien, metteur en scène; Karen Ocana, traductrice littéraire. 

Mode d'évaluation

Le processus d'attribution du prix se déroule en quatre étapes :

1. La présélection;
2. La sélection d’une liste préliminaire;
3. La sélection de cinq titres finalistes;
4. La sélection de l'ouvrage primé.

Chaque ouvrage inscrit au concours est lu par au moins deux des cinq membres du jury, qui en font une évaluation. Chaque ouvrage présélectionné est lu et évalué par tous les membres du jury.
La décision du jury est finale et sans appel.

Appel de candidatures

Les dates limites pour la réception des ouvrages, sont :

• au plus tard le 31 janvier 2019 pour les ouvrages publiés entre le 1er septembre 2018 et le 31 janvier 2019;
• au plus tard le 31 mai 2019 pour les ouvrages publiés entre le 1er février et le 31 mai 2019.

Aucun ouvrage ne pourra être admis après ces dates. Tous les titres soumis feront l’objet d’un accusé de réception par courriel.

Dossier de candidature

Les ouvrages admissibles doivent être inscrits en bonne et due forme sur le formulaire d’inscription, au nom des auteurs, par leur éditeur. Ils devront être déposés en sept exemplaires, accompagnés du formulaire d’inscription, à l'adresse mentionnée dans le formulaire, dans le respect des dates limites.
Tous les livres soumis demeurent à la disposition du Grand Prix du livre de Montréal et ne pourront être retournés à l’éditeur.

Date de remise du prix

Novembre 2019

 

Grand Prix du livre de Montréal

Domaine artistique

Littérature

Types de prix

Prix de la Ville

Contact

Valérie Lampron
Bibliothécaire
Service de la culture, Direction des bibliothèques
514 872-9090
801, rue Brennan, 5e étage
Montréal, QC H3C 0G4