Grand Prix de la danse de Montréal

Nature of the award 

Celebrating its fifth consecutive year, the Grand Prix de la danse de Montréal is awarded by LES PRIX DE LA DANSE DE MONTRÉAL to a Canadian or foreign dance artist (choreographer or performer) for exceptional contribution to dance.
The 2016 Prix, which includes a grant of $25,000, is presented by Ville de Montréal and Quebecor.
Previous years’ winners include: Louise Lecavalier (2011), Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (2012), Benoît Lachambre (2013) and Meg Stuart (2014).

Eligibility criteria 

The artist’s work must have been performed on the territory of Ville de Montréal between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016. 

Method of evaluation 

The winner is chosen by an independent jury named by the board of directors of the PRIX DE LA DANSE DE MONTRÉAL. The jury’s mandate is to evaluate dance works performed on Montreal stages between July 1 and June 30 of the previous season. 

Date of the award presentation 

The 2016 Grand Prix de la danse de Montréal was awarded on November 15, 2016.

Artistic field

Performance art

Prize type

City awards


Marie-Claude Lalonde
Service de la culture
514 868-5020