An urban beach in the heart of Verdun

Verdunites and Montréal residents will no longer have to cross bridges or travel miles to beat the heat. The umbrellas will soon go up on the shores of the St. Lawrence River, just steps from downtown Verdun and the De l’Église métro station.
The beach in Verdun.

The beach will be developed in Verdun’s riverside park, behind the Auditorium. Visitors will have access to on-site parking, and the beach will also be accessible via the existing bicycle path along the shore. Regardless of the mode of transportation chosen, it will be easy to get there and take advantage of the services available, including the nearby restaurants.

The beach will feature swimming, picnics, walks, family outings and recreational activities … Touted as urban and ecological, the future beach is part of a broader site development plan for this 15 km riverside park.

Work will begin in spring 2017.

This project is receiving financial support from the Ville de Montréal, in particular.
Investment by the city: $1 million
    Photos : WAA

Une plage urbaine au cœur de Verdun

C’est la canicule? Verdunois et résidents montréalais n’auront plus à traverser les ponts ni à cumuler les kilomètres pour se lancer à l’eau. Les parasols s’érigeront bientôt sur les rives du Saint-Laurent, à deux pas du centre de Verdun et de la station de métro De l’Église.
La plage de Verdun.

La plage sera aménagée dans le parc riverain de Verdun, derrière l’auditorium. Les visiteurs pourront utiliser le stationnement du site, et les amateurs de vélo, la piste cyclable déjà aménagée sur les berges. Quel que soit le mode de transport choisi, il sera facile de s’y rendre et de profiter des services, notamment de restauration, offerts à proximité.

Au menu : baignade, pique-niques, promenades, activités familiales et de détente… Qualifiée d’urbaine et d’écologique, la future plage constitue l’un des éléments de mise en valeur des berges, qui s'étendent sur plus de 15 kilomètres.

Ouverture prévue au cours de l'année 2017. Début des travaux au printemps 2017.

Ce projet est financé par la Ville de Montréal.
Investissement de la Ville de Montréal : 1 M$
  • La plage de Verdun.
  • La plage de Verdun.
  • La plage de Verdun.
    Photos : WAA