Champ-de-Mars area: Place Vauquelin combines heritage and innovation

Old Montréal residents and workers have enjoyed this area for years.
The Place Vauquelin.

Place Vauquelin, with its fountain and granite, invites you to relax and enjoy this historic area.

The proposed redevelopment would make the area more user friendly and ergonomic, with the addition of seating and more contemporary street furniture. The square is also accessible to people with reduced mobility, starting from Rue Notre-Dame and Champ de Mars.

At the heart of the project is the preservation and enhancement of the landscape, which includes the restoration of the Jean Vauquelin monument and bringing the square back to its original street level on Rue Notre-Dame. The new design is innovative. The basin's fountain would become interactive, with play fountains, sound and light!

The pavement of the square, the stairs and the access ramp to Champ de Mars would be heated, which would make it easier to visit year-round for people with reduced mobility.

As well, increasing the tree canopy by 35% with new trees.

The redevelopment of Place Vauquelin is part of the project to develop the Cité Administrative, a 13-hectare site bordered by Saint-Jacques, Gosford, Notre-Dame and Blvd. Saint-Laurent.

This project, for a total cost of $ 14.7 million, is receiving grants totalling $ 11.5 million under the cultural development agreement between Montréal and the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du gouvernement du Québec.
    Photos : Lemay, 2016.

Secteur Champ-de-Mars : la place Vauquelin marie patrimoine et innovation

Résidents et travailleurs du Vieux-Montréal, visiteurs et touristes la fréquentent depuis toujours.
Place Vauquelin.

La place Vauquelin, avec son bassin-fontaine et ses revêtements de granit, invite à la détente et à la découverte du quartier historique.

Le réaménagement proposé renforce la convivialité et l’ergonomie des lieux, avec l’ajout de places assises et d’un mobilier plus contemporain. La place est aussi accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite, à partir de la rue Notre-Dame et du champ de Mars.

Au cœur du projet : la conservation et la mise en valeur du patrimoine paysager, ce qui inclut la restauration du monument à Jean Vauquelin et le rehaussement de la place à son niveau d’origine, soit le trottoir de la rue Notre-Dame. Le nouvel aménagement fait place à l’innovation. Le bassin-fontaine devient interactif, avec des jeux d’eau, de son et de lumière!

Les revêtements du sol de la place, les escaliers et la rampe d’accès au champ de Mars sont chauffés, ce qui facilite une fréquentation à l’année pour tous, incluant les personnes à mobilité réduite.

Sans oublier, la bonification de 35 % du couvert végétal par l’ajout d’arbres.

Le réaménagement de la place Vauquelin fait partie du projet de la mise en valeur de la Cité administrative, territoire d’une superficie de 13 hectares qui est délimité par les rues Saint-Jacques, Gosford, Notre-Dame et le boulevard Saint-Laurent.

Ce projet, au coût total de 14,7 M$, bénéficie de subventions totalisant 11,5 M $ dans le cadre de l’Entente sur le développement culturel conclue entre la Ville de Montréal et le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du gouvernement du Québec.
    Photos : Lemay, 2016.