Parc Frédéric-Back: A unique metamorphosis

First it was the old Miron Quarry, then a landfill site, then the Complexe environnemental de Saint-Michel ... Now a large park has been unveiled and is taking shape.
Parc Frédéric-Back

Referred to, still, as the old Miron quarry or the St-Michel dump, this gigantic landfill site was once a source of shame to citizens.

Today, the Saint-Michel Environmental Complex (SMEC) – a 192-hectage territory located in the northernmost section of this neighbourhood – is well on its way to becoming one of Montréal’s foremost green spaces, spanning an area almost the size of Parc du Mount-Royal. It is also the most ambitious environmental rehabilitation project every undertaken by the city.

The site has been home to a sorting centre, a power station and composting facilities for the past few years, and cultural and sporting venues such as the TOHU, Cirque du Soleil, the École nationale de cirque, the TAZ and the Stade de soccer also occupy the site, to the great benefit of Montrealers. The linear park encircling the site has been appropriated by walkers, runners and cyclists. This is just a snapshot of things to come at Parc Frédéric-Back.

Two new sectors in the park, spanning a total of 17.7 hectares, will open to the public in 2017. Other sections of the park will be redeveloped, including the spaces surrounding the new indoor soccer stadium.

This metropolitan park dedicated to the environment, culture and sports will be completed in 2023.

This project is being financed by the Ville de Montréal.
Investment by the city: $26.6 million
  • Parc Frédéric-Back
  • Parc Frédéric-Back
    Photos : Ville de Montréal

Le parc Frédéric-Back : une métamorphose unique

On l’appelle encore parfois l’ancienne carrière Miron ou le dépotoir Saint-Michel, ce gigantesque site d’enfouissement qui faisait la honte des citoyens.
Le parc Frédéric-Back.

Aujourd’hui, le complexe environnemental de Saint-Michel (CESM), un territoire de 192 hectares situé dans le nord du quartier du même nom, est en voie de devenir un très grand espace vert de Montréal, avec une superficie voisine de celle du parc du Mont-Royal. C’est le plus ambitieux projet de réhabilitation environnementale jamais porté par la métropole.

Un centre de tri, une centrale électrique et des sites de compostage y sont actifs depuis quelques années. Des installations culturelles et sportives comme la TOHU, le Cirque du Soleil, l’École nationale de cirque, Le TAZ et le Stade de soccer de Montréal y font également le bonheur des Montréalais. Les promeneurs, les coureurs et les cyclistes ont, quant à eux, adopté le parc linéaire qui ceinture le site. Un avant-goût de ce que deviendra le parc Frédéric-Back.

En 2017, deux nouveaux secteurs du parc, totalisant 17,7 hectares, seront ouverts aux citoyens. D’autres portions seront réaménagées, telles que les espaces adjacents au nouveau stade de soccer intérieur.

Ce parc métropolitain consacré à l’environnement, à la culture et aux sports sera terminé en 2023.

Ce projet est financé par la Ville de Montréal.
Investissement de la Ville de Montréal : 26,6 M$
  • Le parc Frédéric-Back.
  • Le parc Frédéric-Back.
    Photos : Ville de Montréal