A Friendship Spanning Mountains and Oceans

Miniature landscape attesting to the deep-rooted collaboration between Shanghai and Montréal dating back to 1985.
Jardin de chine

A miniature landscape entitled “A Friendship Spanning Mountains and Oceans,” bequeathed to the city by the government of the municipality of Shanghai on the occasion of Montréal’s 375th anniversary. This legacy project was integrated into the Entrance Courtyard to the Chinese Garden, which is one of the Montréal Botanical Garden’s leading attractions, drawing some 800,000 visitors annually.

The arrangement of stones in this miniature landscape is the work of artisans from Shanghai, while the vegetation was planted by the Montréal Botanical Garden. This work attests to the deep-rooted collaboration between Montréal and Shanghai dating back to 1985.

Let’s remember that Montréal and Shanghai celebrated the 30th anniversary of their twinning in 2015. To mark the occasion, the mayors of each city reiterated their friendship and signed a twinning protocol for the period extending from 2015 to 2018. The two cities are pursuing exchanges in the areas of parks and horticulture, both in Montréal and in Shanghai.

This project was made possible thanks to the contribution of the Shanghai Municipal Government, People’s Republic of China.

  • Jardin de chine
  • Jardin de chine
    Photos : Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

Une amitié qui traverse les montagnes et les eaux

Paysage miniature qui témoigne de la profonde collaboration qu’entretiennent Shanghai et Montréal depuis 1985.
Jardin de chine

C’est un paysage miniature intitulé « Une amitié qui traverse les montagnes et les eaux » qu’offre le gouvernement de la municipalité de Shanghai à la Ville de Montréal pour souligner son 375e anniversaire. Ce legs a été intégré à la Cour d’entrée du Jardin de Chine qui est l’un des attraits majeurs du Jardin botanique de Montréal et qui accueille chaque année quelque 800 000 visiteurs.

L’agencement des rochers de ce paysage miniature est l’œuvre des artisans de Shanghai, alors que la végétation a été mise en place par le Jardin botanique de Montréal. Cette œuvre témoigne de la profonde collaboration qu’entretiennent Montréal et Shanghai depuis 1985.

Rappelons que les villes de Montréal et Shanghai ont célébré en 2015 le 30e anniversaire du jumelage qui les unit. À cette occasion, les maires ont réitéré leur amitié et signé un protocole de jumelage pour 2015-2018. Les deux villes poursuivent des échanges dans les domaines des parcs et de l’horticulture, tant à Montréal qu’à Shanghai.

Ce projet est rendu possible grâce à la contribution du Gouvernement municipal de Shanghai, République populaire de Chine

  • Jardin de chine
  • Jardin de chine
    Photos : Frédérique Ménard-Aubin