Revamping the Alexandra Pier and cruise terminal

By revitalizing the Alexandra Pier and cruise terminal, the MPA intends to make it a welcoming and convivial place for cruise lines and for Montrealers.
Cruise terminal Iberville

Each year, tens of thousands of visitors step ashore at the Montréal Port Authority’s cruise terminal. Cruises on the St. Lawrence and eastern U.S. coastline, notably between New York City and Montréal, are increasingly popular, and they contribute significantly to the city’s economy and stature.

By revitalizing the Alexandra Pier and cruise terminal, the MPA intends to make it a welcoming and convivial place not only for cruise lines but also for Montrealers eager to gain improved access to the river. With its cleared central path, expansive public space at the end of the pier (with the tip lowered towards the river), green roof accessible at all times, and the addition of a new tower in 2019 with an unmatched view of Montréal and the river, the new cruise terminal is sure to become a tourist attraction and a signature maritime architectural site in the heart of Old Montréal in 2017, a year rich in symbolism and festivities for the city.

Sightseers will also be able to learn about the historic importance of the Port of Montréal and the Alexandra Pier by visiting an exhibition open to the public on the second floor of the terminal.

Be it to watch the cruise ships pull into the harbour, unwind on the green terraces near the river, or discover the historic value of the Alexandra Pier … Montrealers will want to check it out as well!

This project is receiving financial support from the MPA, the Government of Quebec and the Ville de Montréal.
Investment by the city: $15 million
Photos : APM

Revamper la Jetée Alexandra et le terminal de croisières

Chaque année, des dizaines de milliers de visiteurs débarquent au terminal de croisières de l’Administration portuaire de Montréal (APM).
Gare maritime Iberville

Il faut savoir que les croisières sur le Saint-Laurent et la côte est américaine, notamment entre New York et Montréal, sont de plus en plus prisées et contribuent grandement à l’économie et au rayonnement de la métropole.

En réhabilitant la jetée Alexandra et le terminal de croisières, l’APM vise à en faire un lieu accueillant et convivial non seulement pour les croisiéristes mais aussi pour tous les Montréalais qui souhaitent tant avoir un meilleur accès au fleuve. Avec son allée centrale dégagée, sa grande place publique au bout de la jetée dont l’extrémité sera abaissée vers le fleuve, son toit vert accessible en tout temps et l’ajout d’une tour en 2019 offrant une perspective inédite sur Montréal et le fleuve, le nouveau terminal de croisières deviendra un attrait touristique et une nouvelle signature architecturale maritime au cœur du Vieux‐Montréal à l’occasion de 2017, une année riche en symboles et en festivités pour la métropole.

On pourra également en savoir davantage sur l’importance historique du Port de Montréal et de la Jetée Alexandra en visitant une exposition accessible pour tous, située au deuxième étage du terminal.

Que ce soit pour assister à l’arrivée des bateaux de croisières, pour se prélasser sur ses terrasses vertes à proximité du fleuve ou encore pour découvrir la valeur historique de la Jetée Alexandra…gageons que les Montréalais voudront y faire un tour!

Ce projet bénéficie de la contribution financière de l’APM, du Gouvernement du Québec et de la Ville de Montréal.
Investissement de la Ville de Montréal : 15 M$
Photos : APM