Toussaint Louverture
The pride of a community

This bust of Mr. Louverture gives a proud and positive image of the contribution of the Haitian community to the development of the metropolis.
Plan du buste avant

A group of residents from the Haitian community wanted to participate in Montréal's 375th anniversary by offering the city a bust of Toussaint Louverture, emblematic figure of the emancipation movement of Black people in the Americas and universal human rights.

The sculpture was installed at the entrance of Parc Toussaint Louverture, which was dedicated to the hero who fought for the abolition of slavery and precursor to Haiti's independence in 2005.

The initiative committee wanted to offer a proud and positive image of the Haitian community's contribution to the development of our city and show that the community appreciates Montréal's warm welcome and hospitality in the migratory trajectory of Haitians.

This project is made possible by the contribution of about 250 contributors. A fundraising campaign with a goal of $ 40,000 was launched for the creation of the bust and a souvenir album. The Haitian Community Office of Montreal (BCHM) acted as trustee for the project. Montreal (Ville-Marie borough) offered the base and made a floral arrangement to enhance the work.

  • Plan du buste
    Photos : Studio Kay

Toussaint Louverture
La fierté d’une communauté

Ce buste de M. Louverture donne une image fière et positive de l’apport de la communauté haïtienne au développement de la métropole.
Plan du buste avant

Un groupe de citoyens d’origine haïtienne a voulu participer aux célébrations du 375e anniversaire de la Ville de Montréal, en offrant un buste de Toussaint Louverture, figure emblématique, du mouvement d’émancipation des Noirs en Amérique et de l’universalisation des droits humains.

Cette sculpture est installée à l’entrée du parc Toussaint Louverture, dédié en 2005 au héros de la lutte pour l’abolition de l’esclavage et précurseur de l’indépendance d’Haïti.

Le Comité d’initiative a voulu donner une image fière et positive de l’apport de la communauté haïtienne au développement de la métropole et démontrer que la communauté apprécie l’accueil et l’hospitalité de Montréal dans la trajectoire migratoire des Haïtiens.

Ce projet est rendu possible grâce à la contribution d’environ 250 contributeurs. Une campagne de financement avec un objectif de 40,000 $ fut lancé pour la réalisation du buste et d’un album-souvenir. Le Bureau de la communauté haïtienne de Montréal (BCHM) a agi comme fiduciaire du projet. La Ville de Montréal (Arrondissement Ville-Marie) a offert le socle et a réalisé un arrangement floral afin de mettre l’œuvre en valeur.

  • Plan du buste
    Photos : Studio Kay