A green island on the corner of Pie IX and Sherbrooke: A future magnet for tourists

Pedestrians and cyclists can now circulate with greater safety – and pleasure! – in the Space for Life sector at the Olympic Park and Dufresne-Nincheri Museum.
Pie-IX and Sherbrooke intersection.

The Pie IX-Sherbrooke intersection – which straddles the boroughs of Rosemont–La Petite-Patrice and Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve – has long been very busy, not at all people-friendly, and even dangerous. It has been reimagined with a view to making it a gateway worthy of this leading tourist destination.

The project involves the development of a large green space on the north-west corner of the intersection, with the Guido-Nincheri and Marie-Victorin parks – previously separated by rue Rachel. This section of rue Rachel was revegetated between rue Jeanne d’Arc and boulevard Pie-IX. The site also features a work by artist Jean-Robert Drouillard, donated by the Ville de Québec to mark Montréal’s 375th anniversary, located along a pedestrian walk named “promenade de la Ville-de-Québec”. A new cycling link spans the space.

The future Bus Rapid Transit (SRB) will use boulevard Pie-IX, but no station will be built at the corner of rue Sherbrooke: the closest bus stops will be at the corner of rue Mont-Royal and at the Pie-IX métro station on the corner of rue Pierre-de-Coubertin.

This project is receiving financial support from the Ville de Montréal and the Ville de Québec.
Investment by the city: $15.8 million
  • Pie-IX and Sherbrooke intersection.
    Photos : Ville de Montréal

Réinventer le carrefour Pie-IX – Sherbrooke

Piétons et cyclistes circulent maintenant de façon plus sécuritaire – et agréable! – dans le secteur de l’Espace pour la vie, du Parc olympique et du Musée Dufresne-Nincheri.
Carrefour Pie-IX et Sherbrooke.

Le carrefour Pie-IX–Sherbrooke – à la frontière des arrondissements de Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie et de Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve – était très achalandé, mais peu convivial, voire dangereux. Il a été repensé afin de devenir une porte d’entrée digne de ce haut lieu touristique.

Le projet comporte l’aménagement d’un grand espace vert au coin nord-ouest de l’intersection, composé des parcs Guido-Nincheri et Marie-Victorin, auparavant séparés par la rue Rachel. Cette section de la rue Rachel a été reverdie entre l’avenue Jeanne-d’Arc et le boulevard Pie-IX. Une œuvre de l’artiste Jean-Robert Drouillard, don de la Ville de Québec pour le 375e anniversaire de Montréal, y est installée le long d’une promenade piétonne nommée « promenade de la Ville-de-Québec ». Un nouveau lien cyclable traverse l’espace.

Le futur service rapide par bus (SRB) empruntera le boulevard Pie-IX, mais aucune station ne sera construite au croisement de la rue Sherbrooke : les arrêts les plus proches se trouveront à l’angle de l’avenue du Mont-Royal Est et à la station de métro Pie-IX, à l’angle de la rue Pierre-De Coubertin.

Ce projet bénéficie de la contribution financière de la Ville de Montréal et de la Ville de Québec.
Investissement de la Ville de Montréal : 15,8 M$
  • Carrefour Pie-IX et Sherbrooke.
    Photos : Ville de Montréal